Never Alone (Kisima Ingitchuna)

Never Alone (Kisima Ingitchuna) Badge
Experience the epic journey of Nuna and Fox as they search for the source of an eternal blizzard.

Purchase
Sale

$2.99$14.99 SAVE 80%

Media

Description

  • Adventure  Indie  
  • E-Line Media
  • 10/27/2015
  • English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Dutch, Danish, Norwegian, Finnish, Polish, Swedish, Chinese
  • Single-player
    Local Co-op
    Full Controller Support
Experience the epic journey of Nuna and Fox as they search for the source of an eternal blizzard that threatens the survival of everything they have ever known.

Never Alone is an atmospheric puzzle platformer developed in collaboration with the Iñupiat, an Alaska Native people, drawn from a traditional story that has been shared across the generations.

Guide both characters in single-player mode or play cooperatively with a friend as you trek through frozen tundra, leap across treacherous ice floes, swim through underwater caverns and face enemies both strange and familiar. (NOTE: Local co-op play requires at least one Xbox 360 or equivalent game controller).

On over 75 "Best of 2014" lists and winner of "Best Debut Game" at the 2015 BAFTA Games Awards as well as "Game of the Year" and "Most Significant Impact" at the 2015 Games for Change Awards, nearly 40 Alaska Native elders, storytellers and community members contributed to the making of the game.

You'll explore awe-inspiring environments, perform heroic deeds and meet legendary characters from Iñupiaq stories — all narrated by a master storyteller in the spoken Iñupiaq language.
  • Play as both Nuna and Fox — Switch between the two companions at any time with one button press, or play side by side in local co-op mode, as you rely on the unique skills of each character to succeed in your quest. Nuna can climb ladders and ropes, move heavy obstacles, and throw her bola at targets to solve puzzles. Fox can fit through small areas that Nuna can't reach, scramble up walls, and jump to great heights.
  • Brave the harsh world of the Arctic — Run under, through, and atop the unstable structures of an abandoned coastal village. Explore the eerily quiet treetops of a mysterious, frozen forest. Brave the fierce winds of the eternal blizzard. Only with the aid of Helping Spirits will Nuna and Fox have any chance of survival in a land where survival seems impossible.
  • Unlock fascinating video insights — Elders, storytellers, and other members of the Alaska Native community share stories and wisdom about their culture, values and the amazing Arctic world encountered by players in over 30 minutes of interviews.
(C) 2014 Upper One Games LLC. All rights reserved.

Requirements

Windows Requirements:Important Notes:
OS: Windows 7
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 @ 2.2GHz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+ @ 2.8 GHz
Memory: 2 GB RAM
Graphics: GeForce 240 GT or Radeon HD 6570
DirectX: Version 9.0c
Hard Drive: 3 GB available space
Additional Notes: Xbox 360 or equivalent gamepad required for local co-op
 
  • Optional Steam Key provided with purchase. Not required.

Downloadable Content For This Game (DLC)

DLCNever Alone: FoxtalesReleased 2/25/2017$3.99$1.99

Reviews, Ratings & Comments

Ratings

4.1
From 25 Shoppers
5
 
11
4
 
8
3
 
3
2
 
3
1
 
0

Your Rating

Shopper Reviews

  1. Boring...
    by Ainamor, Poland - Jul 1st 2017

    Although I liked the idea itself - the stories about Alaska Native people and the traditions were quite interesting - the gameplay is terrible and there is nothing good to say about it. Maybe I just wasn't the right age target, possibly it could be a good game for kids.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  2. It's okay
    by sarahholmwood, Costa Rica - Apr 10th 2017

    Its great for playing with another friend, good enough.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  3. Disapointment
    by niezapomiinajka, Poland - Dec 27th 2016

    Thought it would be a nice game, however despite of it's historical and cultural touch, it is only a walk ahead game. There is little to do in this game.

    1 out of 3 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  4. Loved it!
    by Inkblots, Canada - Dec 27th 2016

    This might be my favourite platform game to date. Very heavily story-driven - the game is very much a medium to tell the story, rather than the story being a justification for the game. Visually it is beautiful. I see some reviews saying the controls are not very intuitive, and while I agree that the DEFAULT controls are not intuitive and make gameplay difficult, they ARE customizeable to whatever is comfortable for you, and once you've done that, it really isn't difficult at all. I'm not particularly good at platform games, but found this one very enjoyable because of it's focus on creative problem solving rather than pure skill, and the fact that there are no lives, scores, or items to collect (which game my perfectionism a nice break). I also loved the educational component, learning a little bit about Inuit culture. Great game overall, and one that I will definitely be replaying once I've let enough time pass that I've forgotten some of the solutions.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  5. Beautifull, Lovelly and Interesting
    by nelsonmab, Switzerland - Dec 22nd 2016

    Its not everyday that we find a game beautifully done and access to real history.
    I strongly recommend!

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  6. Nice, but not perfect
    by Top Deer, Russian Federation - Jun 20th 2016

    Beautiful, a bit of educational game dedicated to Iñupiat people (Alaska Natives). Despite the interesting story, gameplay is not the strong point of Never Alone, controls are not always intuitive, and some parts of the game can be pretty frustrating. Still, it is a very good experience.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  7. Nice idea but not fun to play
    by NorthernSpruce, Canada - Jun 18th 2016

    The indigenous elements in this game are interesting and thoughtful, and the depiction of a little girl and a fox making their way through Arctic landscapes is well done, but the game is largely a question of coordinating jumps and occasionally using/avoiding winds to navigate ledges and platforms. For some reason the key controls are not very intuitive and when combined with the speed and coordination needed for the jumps it is not fun to play.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  8. Concept great; gameplay terrible
    by BefuddledTrooper, USA - Apr 11th 2016

    "Never Alone" presents the story of Nuna, a brave little girl, and Fox, her spirit companion, based on a traditional story from the legends of the Inupiat, a people of northern Alaska. Your goal is to direct Nuna and Fox in a quest to find the source of an endless, blinding blizzard that prevents Nuna's people from hunting, and thereby threatens the extinction of the tribe from starvation.

    This game was lovingly designed to convey (to the urban gamer) some of the culture of the Inupiat, and a bit about their current situation. In style, the game succeeds admirably: you really get a feeling of the frozen Arctic tundras, ice floes, and forests, and the magical beings that inhabit the spirit world of the Inupiat. It's a "2D" game (action is left-to-right, with some exceptions), but the beautifully-designed graphics give it a lifelike effect.

    Short videos (some with Inupiat people describing their lives, and how they experience the world) are available, either within the game (like an optional cutscene) or playable separately. Reviews of "Never Alone" on the Internet indicate that the developers worked with Inupiat people to ensure that they were staying true to their traditions, throughout the game.

    Unfortunately, despite all of the care that was given to the design and "feel" of the game, it fails in execution. I'm speaking here of the Mac version, designed for keyboard and mouse (since I'm not familiar with any other version). The game is clearly intended for young people, but it's loaded with quick time events (QTE)—i.e., pressing the appropriate keys in order, within a strictly-limited time period—that most kids can't handle. In fact, these QTE are difficult enough for adults: after struggling for an hour or so with the "bear's cave" episode, I gave up, and "sought professional help" from my own "Nuna," a 7-year-old gamer (a whizz at Yepi games, and a formidable opponent for her own father, an experienced gamer himself, whom she regularly crushes at "Mortal Kombat" and other fast-action games). After trying for several minutes to work through the "bear's cave" QTE, (following the instructions in the walkthrough), she announced "I can't do it!—It's too hard!" and walked away.

    Too bad the developers didn't beta-test the game with a group of kids! Not recommended.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  9. Warmth and charm in the snow
    by Batavorn, Netherlands - Mar 24th 2016

    Never alone is a wonderful game about a young girl and her fox companion as they set out into the polar landscape on a quest to save their village. The game is a puzzle platformer where Nuna and her fox have to cooperate to overcome obstacles. The puzzles never become too hard or frustrating and the landscape is lovely. During your travels you unlock videos that offer snippets of information about the cultural background of the game.

    On release the game was tricky to play solo because the AI was not capable of keeping up, but this has been fixed. All in all it is a lovely little game that manages to stay fresh and enjoyable for the handful of hours it should take you to finish.

    2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  10. Can be frustrating
    by Scott Henderson, USA - Mar 12th 2016

    I agree with others in that the game provides insight to a culture that few people know much about. A culture, I imagine, that is dying off due to modernization. The provided video clips are fascinating and left me wanting to know more about the people. The videos are locked intially and allow play once one progresses in the game. I must not have hit all the plot points though because two of the videos remain locked after completeing the game. I imagine it's possible to go back and play a chapter of the game again in an attempt to unlock the video, but it's not easily discernable which chapters release which videos. In regards to the game, I enjoyed the game play initially, but as the game progresses (and gets harder), I found the location of the controls to be cumbersome. The Q key (which switches between characters) is located next to the Tab key which plays a video. All are near the WSAD movement keys and the Left Shift key which is also needed. Given the critical timing of some of the puzzles, hitting the wrong key at a crucial moment over and over again got to be a bit maddening. After the fox transforms, I found controlling his character's movement unnatural and that added to my frustration. Overall, that left me wanting to just get the thing over with rather than enjoying the ending.

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  11. Gorgeous!
    by ToddM10, USA - Jan 25th 2016

    Breathtaking visuals! This game is both, adenture and puzzle solving challenges although quite simplistic. I enjoyed the game greatly but it's not the type of replayable game. Doesn't take away the fact that it's still a fun and gorgeous game.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  12. Surprising in a good way
    by Andrew L., Canada - Jan 15th 2016

    If you're on the fence, dive in as there is legit fun with the mini puzzles and finding paths. The platforming does get a little repetitive and even slow at times. You switch between girl and fox with a button tap. Very fluid play and atmosphere. You'll even learn a thing or two about an obscure culture and their background, survival methods, etc. Overall very cool.

    No feedback given on this review.Was this helpful? Yes No
  13. Masterpiece
    by GravityLoL, Poland - Jan 13th 2016

    There are games that are changing way you look at world and games that are made purely for fun.
    This is a game from the first kind.

    It's a touching story, fairytale that everyone should play.

    1 out of 2 shoppers found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No
  14. Not a steam key
    by zipinel, Romania - Nov 28th 2015

    First of all it is not a steam key. But the game is so beautiful, you will not care about this part for sure. Try it .

    1 shopper found this helpful.Was this helpful? Yes No

More By E-Line Media

Currency